Awards

ACM SIGART Autonomous Agents Research Award

The ACM SIGART Autonomous Agents Research Award is an annual award for excellence in research in the area of autonomous agents. The award is intended to recognize researchers in autonomous agents whose current work is an important influence on the field. The award is an official ACM award, funded by an endowment created by ACM SIGART from the proceeds of previous Autonomous Agents conferences. Candidates for the award are nominated through an open nomination process. Previous winners of the SIGART Autonomous Research Award were Catherine Pelachaud (2015), Michael Wellman (2014), Jeffrey S. Rosenschein (2013), Moshe Tennenholtz (2012), Joe Halpern (2011), Jonathan Gratch and Stacy Marsella (2010), Manuela Veloso (2009), Yoav Shoham (2008), Sarit Kraus (2007), Michael Wooldridge (2006), Milind Tambe (2005), Makoto Yokoo (2004), Nick Jennings (2003), Katia Sycara (2002), and Tuomas Sandholm (2001).

The selection committee for the ACM/SIGAI Autonomous Agents Research Award is pleased to announce that Prof. Peter Stone of the University of Texas at Austin is the recipient of the 2016 award. Prof. Stone's work is exceptional in both its breadth and depth in multiagent systems. Some of his most influential work has been in reinforcement learning and multiagent learning as applied to robot soccer, autonomous traffic management, and trading agents. His contributions are ongoing, as evidenced by the growing influence of one of his recent innovations, the formulation of ad hoc teamwork as a new research area. In addition to the impact of his research, his teams' successes in international competitions, including RoboCup and the Trading Agent Competition, are particularly notable. Prof. Stone has also served the multiagent systems, AI, and RoboCup communities in various leadership roles.

IFAAMAS Victor Lesser Distinguished Dissertation Award

This award was started for dissertations defended in 2006 and is named for Professor Victor Lesser, a long standing member of the AAMAS community who has graduated a large number of outstanding PhD students in the area. To be eligible for the 2014 award, a dissertation had to have been written as part of a PhD defended during the year 2014, and had to be nominated by the supervisor with three supporting references.

Selection is based on originality, depth, impact and written quality, supported by quality publications. Previous winners of this award were Yair Zick (2014), Manish Jain (2013), Birgit Endrass (2012), Daniel Villatoro (2011), Bo An (2010), Andrew Gilpin (2009), Ariel Procaccia (2008), Radu Jurca (2007), and Vincent Conitzer (2006).

The 2015 IFAAMAS Victor Lesser Distinguished Dissertation Award recipient is Dr. Amos Azaria, whose thesis titled "Agents for Automated Human Persuasion" was supervised by Prof. Sarit Kraus and Prof. Yonatan Aumann. The committee also wanted to recognize Dr. Piotr Skowron, whose thesis titled "Resource Allocation in Selfish and Cooperative Distributed Systems" was supervised by Prof. Piotr Faliszewski and Prof. Krzysztof Rzadca.

IFAAMAS Influential Paper Award

The International Foundation for Autonomous Agents and Multi-Agent Systems set up an influential paper award in 2006 to recognize publications that have made seminal contributions to the field. Such papers represent the best and most influential work in the area of autonomous agents and multi-agent systems. These papers might, therefore, have proved a key result, led to the development of a new sub-field, demonstrated a significant new application or system, or simply presented a new way of thinking about a topic that has proved influential. The award is open to any paper that was published at least 10 years before the award is made. The paper can have been published in any journal, conference, or workshop. The award is sponsored by the Agent Theories, Architectures and Languages foundation.

The winner of the 2016 IFAAMAS Influential Paper Award:

Munindar P. Singh (1998) Agent Communication Languages: Rethinking the Principles IEEE Computer, vol. 31, no. 12, December 1998, pp. 40-47.